Search This Blog

Tuesday, 22 September 2015

Service of summons or documents

Q: I am trying to serve a person for a civil matter, but they refuse to accept it; what can I do?

A: According to section 59(2) of the Interpretation Act 1962, as amended:

(2) Where a written law made after the commencement of this Act authorises or requires a document to be served on any person without directing it to be served in a particular manner, the service of that document may be effected either—

  • (a) by personal service; or

  • (b) by post in accordance with subsection (1); or

  • (c) by leaving it for him with some person apparently over the age of sixteen years at his usual or last known place of abode or business; or

  • (d) in the case of a corporate body or of any association of persons, whether incorporated or not, by delivering it to the secretary or clerk of the body or association at the registered or principal office of the body or association or serving it by post on such secretary or clerk at such office; or

  • (e) if it is not practicable after reasonable inquiry to ascertain the name or address of an owner, lessee or occupier of premises on whom the document should be served, by addressing the document to him by the description of “owner” or “lessee” or “occupier”, as the case may be, of the premises (naming them) to which the document relates, by affixing it, or a copy of it, to some conspicuous part of the premises.

Saturday, 12 September 2015

The new government of Trinidad & Tobago

Here's a list of the government ministries under the PNM government from 2015. 

Office of the Prime Minister
Dr. the Honourable Keith Rowley   Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Minister in the Ministry of the Office of the Prime Minister
Minister: The Honourable Ayanna Webster-Roy

Office of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs
Minister: The Honourable Faris Al Rawi

Minister in the Office of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs
Minister: The Honourable Stuart Young

Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries
Minister: Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat

Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries
Senator the Honourable Avinash Singh

Ministry of Communications
Minister: The Honourable Maxie Cuffie

Ministry of Community Development, Culture and the Arts
Minister: Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby-Dolly

Ministry of Education
Minister: The Honourable Anthony Garcia

Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries
Minister: The Honourable Nicole Olivierre

Ministry of Finance
Minister: The Honourable Colm Imbert

Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs
Minister: Senator the Honourable Denis Moses

Ministry of Health
Minister: The Honourable Terrence Deyalsingh

Ministry of Housing and Urban Development
Minister: The Honourable Marlene McDonald

Ministry of Labour and Small Enterprise Development
Minister: Senator the Honourable Jennifer Baptiste-Primus

Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government
Minister: Senator the Honourable Franklyn Khan

Ministry of National Security
Minister: The Honourable Major General (Retired) Edmund Ernest Dillon

Ministry of Social Development and Family Services
Minister: The Honourable Cherrie-Ann Crichlow-Cockburn

Ministry of Planning and Development
Minister: The Honourable Camille Robinson-Regis

Ministry of Public Administration
Minister: The Honourable Randall Mitchell

Ministry of Public Utilities
Minister: The Honourable Brigadier General (Retired) Ancil Antoine

Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs
Minister: The Honourable Darryl Smith

Ministry of Tourism
Minister: The Honourable Shamfa Cudjoe

Ministry of Trade and Industry
Minister: Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon

Ministry of Works and Transport
Minister: The Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds